Thursday, January 22, 2009

House Veterans’ Affairs Committee Adopts Oversight Plan for the 111th Congress





House Veterans’ Affairs Committee Adopts Oversight Plan for the 111th Congress and Officially Names Members

Washington, D.C. – Today, Chairman of the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs Bob Filner, led the Committee’s organizational meeting for the 111th Congress. Committee rules, membership and the oversight plan for the 111th Congress were adopted.

Chairman Filner (D-CA) commented, “We have a remarkable opportunity as a Committee to make significant progress when it comes to improving services and benefits for our veterans. President Obama has laid out an ambitious agenda and the House Veterans’ Affairs Committee is committed to bringing results to our veterans and their families. I plan to tap the energy of our new Committee members and rely on the dedication of our Republican colleagues to work in an effective and bi-partisan way to find and implement solutions to the real problems that exist for our veterans. Today, the members of the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs came together to pledge to fight for our veterans in the 111th Congress, just as our veterans fought for the rights and liberties that our Nation enjoys today.”

Members of the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs

Bob Filner, CA, Chairman

Corrine Brown, FL

Vic Snyder, AR

Michael M. Michaud, ME

Stephanie Herseth Sandlin, SD

Harry E. Mitchell, AZ

John J. Hall, NY

Deborah L. Halvorson, IL

Thomas S.P. Perriello, VA

Harry Teague, NM

Ciro D. Rodriguez, TX

Joe Donnelly, IN

Jerry McNerney, CA

Zachary T. Space, OH

Timothy J. Walz, MN

John H. Adler, NJ

Ann Kirkpatrick, AZ

Glenn C. Nye, VA

Steve Buyer, IN, Ranking Member

Cliff Stearns, FL

Jerry Moran, KS

Henry E. Brown, Jr., SC

Jeff Miller, FL

John Boozman, AR

Brian P. Bilbray, CA

Doug Lamborn, CO

Gus M. Bilirakis, FL

Vern Buchanan, FL

David P. Roe, TN

Subcommittee Assignments for the House Committee on Veterans’ Affairs

Subcommittee on Disability Assistance and Memorial Affairs

John J. Hall, New York, Chairman

Deborah L. Halvorson, Illinois

Joe Donnelly, Indiana

Ciro D. Rodriguez, Texas

Ann Kirkpatrick, Arizona

Jeff Miller, Florida, Acting Ranking Member

Brian P. Bilbray, California


Subcommittee on Economic Opportunity

Stephanie Herseth Sandlin, South Dakota, Chairwoman

Thomas S.P. Perriello, Virginia

John H. Adler, New Jersey

Ann Kirkpatrick, Arizona

Harry Teague, New Mexico

John Boozman, Arkansas, Ranking Member

Jerry Moran, Kansas

Gus M. Bilirakis, Florida

Subcommittee on Health

Michael H. Michaud, Maine, Chairman

Corrine Brown, Florida

Vic Snyder, Arkansas

Harry Teague, New Mexico

Ciro D. Rodriguez, Texas

Joe Donnelly, Indiana

Jerry McNerney, California

Glenn C. Nye, Virginia

Deborah L. Halvorson, Illinois

Thomas S.P. Perriello, Virginia

Jerry Moran, Kansas, Acting Ranking Member

Cliff Stearns, Florida

Henry E. Brown, Jr., South Carolina

John Boozman, Arkansas

Gus M. Bilirakis, Florida

Vern Buchanan, Florida

Subcommittee on Oversight and Investigations

Harry E. Mitchell, Arizona, Chairman

Zachary T. Space, Ohio

Timothy J. Walz, Minnesota

John H. Adler, New Jersey

John J. Hall, New York

Brian P. Bilbray, California, Acting Ranking Member



Republican Members of Congress listed in italics.


I am personally pleased to see Congressman John Hall keep his Chairmanship of the Disability Assistance and Memorial Affairs he has worked hard on the behalf of veterans the past 2 years and I look forward to more good work coming from his committee........

Sphere: Related Content